Western Canadian Music Awards announce nominees for 2022

Nominees for the 2022 Western Canadian Music Awards include Archspire, Hayley Blais and others.

Content of the article

The Western Canadian Music Alliance has announced the nominees for the 2022 Western Canadian Music Awards.

Advertisement 2

Content of the article

The annual celebration of Western Canadian music celebrates its 20th anniversary this year. The ceremony and the accompaniment West Escape festival will take place in Calgary. This is the third time the event has taken place in the city.

When are the Western Canadian Music Awards and BreakOut West?

The festival and conference runs from September 28 to October 2 at venues in downtown Calgary and thousand music entertainment strip operating on 9 Ave. SE of Inglewood to East Village.

Who is included in the nominations?

The WCMAs include artists from Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Saskatchewan and Yukon. Voting is done by members of the Western Provincial and Territorial Music Industry Associations. It starts on June 8 and ends on June 22.

How many categories are voted?

There are artistic and industrial nominees in several categories. Everything is coordinated from the head office in Winnipeg, which is located on the ancestral lands of Treaty 1 territory, the original lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene peoples, and the homeland of the Métis Nation. .

Who are the artistic nominees?

Advertisement 3

Content of the article

We apologize, but this video failed to load.

Here’s the full list, which includes artists such as British Columbia’s Haley Blais nominated in the BreakOut Artist of the Year category:


Blues Artist of the Year
Brandon Isaac — B.C.
David Gogo — B.C.
Kenney ‘Blues Boss’ Wayne – BC
Son of Dave — MB
The Harpooner and the Ax Murderer – BC

BreakOut Artist of the Year, sponsored by FACTOR
Golden Boy – MB
Haley Blais — B.C.
Kyle McKearney—Alta.
Leith Ross — MB
The Garrys — Sask.

Children’s Artist of the Year
Beppie — AB
Music with Mandy — AB
Smilin’ Rylan — AB
The OOT n’ Oots – BC
Will’s Jams — B.C.

Classical Artist or Ensemble of the Year, sponsored by the Canadian Music Center (CMC)
Aventa Bundle — B.C.
Christopher Tyler Nickel — BC
Mark Takeshi McGregor — BC
Standing wave — B.C.
Tom McCaslin—Alta.

Advertisement 4

Content of the article

Classical Composer of the Year
Dorothy Chang — “Soaring Spirits” — British Columbia
Edward Top — “Donemus Records” — BC
Fred Stride — Saskatchewan All Star Big Bend “Saskatchewan Suite” — B.C.
Jordan Nobles – “Chiaroscuro” – British Columbia
Stephen Chatman — “Stephen Chatman” — B.C.

Country Artist of the Year
Dan Davidson—Alta.
Hailey Benedict—Alta.
Jess Moskaluke—Sask.
Nice horse — AB
Tyler Joe Miller — BC

Electronic and Dance Artist of the Year
Elazion — B.C.
Global — B.C.
Sabai — B.C.
Takis — B.C.

Francophone Artist of the Year, sponsored by the APCM (Association of Song and Music Professionals)
Etienne Fletcher — SK
Jocelyne Baribeau — MB
Matt Stern — BC
Ponteix — SK
The Pxrtals — SK

Global Artist of the Year
Aasiva — SA
Andino Suns—Sask.
Ratings of 4 — AB
Will TO A — B.C.
Omianan — B.C.

Advertisement 5

Content of the article

Indigenous Artist of the Year
Cassidy Mann — MB
Jessica McMann—Alta.
Jade Turner—MB
Kyle McKearney—Alta.
Snotty Nose Ground Kids — B.C.

Instrumental Artist of the Year
Astrocolor — B.C.
Casimiro Nhussi — MB
Keanu Ienco — B.C.
Mohamed Assani — B.C.
Waxwing — B.C.

Jazz Artist of the Year
Al Muirhead Quintet — AB
Erin Propp and Larry Roy—MB
Esteban Herrera Quintet — AB
Ryan Oliver — BC
Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra — MB

Metal and Hard Music Artist of the Year
Archspire – BC
Before and quickly — SK
Flashback — Sask.
Osyron — AB
Trench — AB

Pop artist of the year
Field Guide — MB
Haley Blais — B.C.
Mathew V — B.C.
Nuela Charles — AB

Producer of the Year
Chandelier Factor — Sask.
Liam Duncan — MB
Megan Nash, Dana Rempel, Darnell Stewart, Tanner Wilhelm Hale—Sask.
Ryan Worsley — BC
Zach Gray, James Younger — B.C.

Advertising 6

Content of the article

R&B Artist of the Year
Katie Tupper—Sask.
Sargeant X Comrade — AB
Uyemi — AB

Rap and Hip-Hop Artist of the Year
Anthony OKS — MB
Def3 and late night radio — B.C.
K-Riz — AB
Moraine — Alta.
Snotty Nose Ground Kids — B.C.

Recording of the year
Ariel Posen — MB
Megan Nash—Sask.
Samantha Savage Smith—Alta.
Snotty Nose Ground Kids — B.C.
The Dead South — SK

Rock Artist of the Year
Ariel Posen — MB
Dear Red — B.C.
King of Foxes – B.C.
New Wales — MB
Royal Canoe — MB

Roots Artist of the Year
Ben Sures — AB
Del Barber — MB
John Wort Hannam—Alta.
Maria Dunn — BC
Sweet Alibi — MB

Songwriter(s) of the Year sponsored by the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN)
Grant Davidson — Slow Leaves “Stay Around” — MB
Katie Tupper – “How Can I Get Your Love?” — Sask.
Mathew van Vooght — Mathew V “Healing” — British Columbia
Sam Lynch — “Keeping Time” — B.C.
Tim Buckley – T. Buckley “Hold My Place” – AB

Advertising 7

Content of the article

Spiritual Artist of the Year
Amanda Hagel—Sask.
Danny Floyd Cole—Alta.
Elenee — SK
fonzdot — AB
Two late to the party — AB

Video Director of the Year sponsored by Manitoba Film & Music
Amy Mantyka — Megan Nash “Chew Quietly / Clean Slate” — SK
Brandi Sidoryk & Krista Wodelet — Nice Horse High School — AB
Eva Dominelli — Gentle Party “God Complex” — British Columbia
Landon Lake — Don Amero “My Poor Mama” — MB
Martin Lafrenière — Boy Golden “Church of Better Daze” — MB

Visual Media Composer of the Year
Alfredo Santa Ana — Chained — B.C.
Jesse Zubot — ANCIENT SKY — B.C.
Jesse Zubot, Pura Fé — Spirit Emulsion — B.C.
Jesse Zubot, Russell Wallace — Monkey Beach — B.C.
Mahogany frog — Faust — MB

Who are the industry nominees?

Here is the full list:


Advertising 8

Content of the article

Audio Engineering Awards
Andy Schichter — BC
Dan Davidson—Alta.
Ryan Worsley — BC
Scott Franchuk—Alta.
Sheldon Zaharko — B.C.

Community Achievement Award
Curbside Gigs — AB
Nation Music Center—Alta.
Red Tie Productions — MB
Sakamoto Agency — B.C.
The Happy Nun Café—Sask.

Visual Design Excellence
Bronwin Parks — Feisty Creative — B.C.
Toy Shalom — Cosmic cave — AB
Kenton Doupe—Factor Eight—Sask.
x/o & Venom — s Studios — BC
Angie C, David MacKenzie, Kristen Carleton and LK Visuals — BC

Impact on artist development
Anniversary Cake Records — MB
Cordova Bay Entertainment Group, Inc. — BC
Curbside Gigs — AB
National Music Center — AB
Little Kingdom – British Columbia

Impact in Live Music sponsored by the Canadian Live Music Association
Curbside Gigs — AB
Folk On The Rocks — Northwest Territories
King Eddy—Alta.
National Music Center — AB
Times Change(d) High & Lonesome Club — MB

Impact in music marketing
Anniversary Cake Records — MB
Chronograph Records — AB
Curbside Gigs — AB
Fallen Tree Records—Alb.
National Music Center — AB

[email protected]


Advertisement 1


Postmedia is committed to maintaining a lively yet civil discussion forum and encourages all readers to share their views on our articles. Comments can take up to an hour to be moderated before appearing on the site. We ask that you keep your comments relevant and respectful. We have enabled email notifications. You will now receive an email if you receive a reply to your comment, if there is an update to a comment thread you follow, or if a user follows you comments. Visit our Community Rules for more information and details on how to adjust your E-mail settings.