Voting closes for the Reggae Month IRIE FM Music Awards

Final voting for the Reggae Month IRIE FM Music Awards took place Thursday in Kingston.

A panel of industry professionals under the watchful eyes of audit firm HLB Mair Russell attended the more than two-hour session where voting took place in 19 categories.

The ballots were counted on Thursday, February 10 by the auditors, and the results are now under lock and key. No one else knows who the winners are.

On Tuesday, March 1, some 21 jamaican andthe artists are at be rewarded for their work during the “Reggae Month Irie Fm Music Awards” live.

The rewards who was stopped for more than a decade, was againspear to February 9 during Irie Fm’s Wwake up call and E-Buzz Programs.

International artists Spice and Sean Paul top the list of nominees with 6 and 5 nominations respectively.

Among some of the major categories are: Album of the Year, DeeIYeah of the year and song of the year.

Album of the Year saw artists like Masicka’s ‘438’, Alkaline’s top prize, Spice’s ’10’, “Toxicity” by Bugle, “Live N Livin” by Sean Paul and “Pamoja” by Etana vying for the coveted title.

For the Karl Young Listeners Choice Award, theInternet users can vote for their favorite artist for 2021 via the WhatsApp line 876-350-2838.

The awards held in association with the Ministry of Entertainment are part of the Reggae Month celebrations.

The IRIE FM Music Awards were first held on Valentine’s Day, February 14, 2006, was the brainchild of senior radio presenter Ainsworth ‘Big A’ Higgins who had long championed the awards. He led the team for three years – 2006, 2007 and 2008.

The 2022 Reggae Month IRIE FM Music Awards cover the period from January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021.