The Biltmore Theater to host the 2022 Oshawa Music Awards

Published on September 29, 2022 at 09:43

Kourkoutis Hill

The first woman to be nominated and win a JUNO Award for Recording Engineer of the Year is honored tonight at the Oshawa Music Awards as the recipient of the Industry Leader Award.

The achievements of renowned producer, songwriter, composer, mixer, multi-instrumentalist, artist, mentor and teacher Hill Kourkoutis, who grew up in Greenwood in North Pickering, will be showcased at the Biltmore Theater during the fifth annual ‘OMA celebrating music in Durham Region.

His producing, mixing and songwriting credits span a wide list of releases – from Leela Gilday’s JUNO album, North Star Calling, Digging Roots’ top 30 “SKODEN”, ​​Cassie’s “Unsolicited Contact” Dasilva, SATE’s JUNO – and the Polaris Prize-nominated release, “The Fool” – and she also co-wrote and produced the theme song and ending title track for Universal Kids’ Remy and Boo as well as Dino Disney ranch.

As a musician, Kourkoutis shared the stage with artists such as The Weeknd, Serena Ryder, Martha and the Muffins and Tara Slone, and was also the onstage guitarist for CTV’s house band The Launch.

“Hill’s accomplishments to date exemplify the essence of OMA’s music industry leader award,” said OMA Director Tony Sutherland. “His work speaks volumes and will no doubt inspire rising stars in Durham Region, across the country and around the world.”

“We are delighted to recognize Hill this year and welcome him to this illustrious group.”

For her part, Kourkoutis said she was “deeply honoured” to be this year’s recipient of the Music Industry Leader of the Year award. “Growing up in Durham gave me an amazing start to my music career; it’s where I took all my music lessons, wrote my first songs, started my first bands, recorded my first demos and received the support of my family, my teachers and my peers who allowed me to realize my dreams.

“The foundation that has been established in the community of Durham has been integral to my growth as a creator, and I feel a great deal of gratitude towards OMAs,” she added. “Receiving this honor from my peers in my hometown where it all started means the world to me.”

In addition to Kourkoutis, the 2022 OMAs will honor artists in multiple categories – including Songwriter of the Year, Album of the Year, Artist or Group of the Year, Artist or Emerging Group of the Year, Single of the Year, Durham Song of the Year, Music Video of the Year, Music Producer of the Year and Music Teacher of the Year.

The 2022 Oshawa Music Awards will also once again hand out Lifetime Achievement Awards recognizing distinct work within the local community.

‍This year’s recipients are the Durham Girl’s Choir and Blue Rodeo’s Greg Keelor.

Launched in 2018, past Oshawa Music Award winners include Shawn Mendes, Crown Lands, Tania Joy, Three Mile Islanders, Zaftig, Skye Wallace, Hollowsage and Mogens Galberg; Returning OMA winners Lindsay Schoolcraft and Gal George Gjurin are also up for 2022.

The Apologies The Apologies are nominated in the Artist or Group of the Year category.


Artist or group of the year

Excuses Excuses (“Far From Perfect”)

Jadea Kelly (“Alley”)

Lindsay Schoolcraft (“New World”)

Bachelor of the Year

Excuses Excuses (“Far From Perfect”)

Jadea Kelly (“happy”)

Valdii (“3 Years (Casino Stereo Remix)”)

Songwriter of the Year

Cameron Tania (“Helium”)

Definition of Death (“Rise and Stall”)

Hunter Sheridan (“Ambrose”)

Music Video of the Year

The Fold Rule with Production Haus (“Ed Was Honest”)

Delon Om and BenAnthony Lavoz with Delon Om (“Delequente (Delinquinte)”)

BUSM with The North Brothers (“Smile”)

Emerging Artist or Group of the Year — Presented by the Spark Center

Anthony Brown (“It’s Anthony Brown – EP”)

Cameron Tania (“Helium”)

Delon Om and BenAnthony Lavoz (“Delequente (Delinquinte)”)

album of the year

Tania Joy (“I Will Stand”)

Valdii (“The Mirror”)

Wayne Madder (“Unconditional”)

Durham Song of the Year — Presented by Durham Region Economic Development and Tourism

Cameron Tania (“Helium”)

Gal George Gjurin (“Shard”)

‍Music Producer of the Year — Presented by 360insights

Dsymphony (“Delequente (Delinquinte)”)

Gal George Gjurin (“Shard”)

Lindsay Schoolcraft (“Stolen Light”)

Music Teacher of the Year — Presented by Durham College

Amanda deBoer

Durham Girls Choir

Emily Snellings

‍The public was invited to vote for their favorites in each category except for Music Producer of the Year and Music Teacher of the Year. Public vote at closed August 9.

The 2022 Oshawa Music Awards are presented by Durham Region Economic Development and Tourism, 360insights, Spark Centre, Trent University Durham GTA and Durham College.

Greg Keelor ​​was honored by OMAs this year with a Lifetime Achievement Award

insauga editorial standards and policies

The advertisement