Dave, FKA twigs and TAAHLIAH among 2022 AIM Independent Music Awards nominations – News

The 2022 AIM Independent Music Awards have announced their nominations, with previous years’ winners Dave and the FKA Twigs among those with the most nominations.

Other names that have been nominated for awards include, KnucklesOvermono, Kokoroko, Ross From Friends, Jeshi, Nia Archives, Anz, Emma-Jean Thackray and many more.

Read this next: Nia Archives calls out MOBO Awards for lack of dance and electronic category

Double-nominated acts include Dave, FKA twigs, Knucks, Nova Twins, Children of Zeus, Taahliah, Jeshi and Nilüfer Yanya.

This year’s awards include a new category, Best Independent EP/Mixtape, which nominated FKA Twigs, Joy Orbison, Surya Sen, TAAHLIAH and Wesley Joseph.

More electronic and rap artists are recognized in the Best Independent Track category with a shortlist including Anz, Overmono, Knucks, Dave and more.

Read this next: Bigger vision: Joy Orbison is ready for the next step

The awards ceremony will take place on September 28 at the Roundhouse in London.

There is also a publicly voted category for Best Live Performer, which you can vote for here.

See the full list of awards and nominees below.

UK Independent Breakthrough in association with YouTube Music

Children of Zeus (first word)
Warmduscher (Bella Union)
Knucks (no days off)
Nova Twins (Marshall Records)
Wet Leg (Domino Recording Company)

International breakthrough in association with Deezer

Amyl and the Sniffers (Raw Trade)
Blxst (Red Bull Records)
Kokoroko (Brownswood Recordings)
Mdou Moctar (Matador Records)
Mitski (Dead Oceans)

Best Independent Track in association with Meta

Anz – You Could Be (ft. George Riley) (Ninja Tune)
Dave – Starlight (neighborhood recordings)
FKA Twigs – Tears In The Club ft. The Weeknd (Young Recordings)
Jeshi – Protein feat. Obongjayar (Because the music)
Knucks, SL – Nice and Good
Nova Twins – Antagonist
Overmono – So U Kno (XL recordings)
Wet Leg – Deck Chair
Wu-Lu – Broken Houses (Warp Records)
Yves Tumor – Jackie (Warp Records)

Best Independent EP/Mixtape

FKA Twigs – Caprisongs (Beggars)
Joy Orbison – Still Slipping vol.1 (XL Recordings)
Surya Sen – At what cost? (Skint Recordings)
Taahliah – Angelica (untitled recordings)
Wesley Joseph – Overseas (Eeviltwinn)

Best Independent Album in association with Spotify

Boj – Gbagada Express (Moves Recordings)
Children of Zeus – Balance (first word)
Cleo Sol – Mother (Forever Living Originals)
Dave – We’re All Alone Together (Neighborhood Recordings)
Dave Okumu – Knopperz (transgressive)
Emma-Jean Thackray – Yellow (Movement)
Mustafa – When the Smoke Rises (Young)
Nilüfer Yanya – Painless (ATO Records)
Sault – New (Forever Living Originals)
Walt Disco – Unlearning (lucky number)

Better [Difficult] Second album in association with BBC 6 Music

Black Country, New Road – Ants From Above (Ninja Tune)
Jana Rush – Painful Lights (Planet Mu Records)
Nilüfer Yanya – Painless
Ross From Friends – Tread (Brainfeeder)
Tirzah – Colorgrade (Domino Recording Company)

Best Independent Remix

ATO – No Caroline remix’ (Flohio) (MCMXCV)
Erike de Casier – Polite (Mura Masa Remix) (4AD)
Ibeyi – Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith (Champion Remix) (XL Recordings)
MF Doom – Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Man on Fire Remix) (Lex Records)
Shygirl – BDE (Kaydy Cain Remix) (Because Music)

One To Watch in association with the BBC

Barry can’t swim (Technicolor/Ninja Tune)
Jeshi (because the music)
Lea Sen (Partisan Records)
Nia’s Archives (Hijinxx)
Taahliah (untitled recordings)

Becky Buckle is Mixmag’s digital intern, follow her on Twitter