Calgary to Host CCMA Awards at Saddledome

Canada’s top country artists will be honored in Calgary on Sunday as the Canadian Country Music Association awards return to town for the 10th time.

The show will be co-hosted by Tenille Townes, of Grande Prairie, Alta., and Atlanta artist Blanco Brown, best known for his hit “The Git Up.”

Townes and Brown will perform separately on the show while Brett Kissel is set to join 1990s boy band 98 Degrees on their “Ain’t the Same” collaboration.

Townes is heading to the party with seven nominations and has won nine CCMA awards in her career.

Jade Eagleson of Bailieboro, Ont. has six nominations including two in the single of the year category. Dean Brody and Kissel each have four.

A gala was held Saturday in Calgary, where several CCMA awards were presented.

Among the winners was Nice Horse, which won Best Video for “High School.”

Songwriters of the Year went to the team of Tennille Townes, Steph Jones and David Pramik for Townes’ hit “Girl Who Didn’t Care.”

Mitch Jay was named Steel Guitar Player of the Year. Matt McKay was named Guitarist of the Year. The best-selling album of the year went to Morgan Wallen for Dangerous: the double album. Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year went to Jade Eagleson’s Honkytonk Revivalwhile the year’s best-selling Canadian single went to Sacha and the Reklaws for “What the Truck”.

Taber, Alta., from Corb Lund, won Alternative Country Album of the Year for Songs my friends wrote.

Canadian country music legend George Fox was also inducted into the CCMA Hall of Fame.

With files from The Canadian Press