Buffalo Rose takes top honors at the Acoustic Music Awards

Critically acclaimed Pittsburgh folk-Americana sextet Buffalo Rose took top honors at the 18th Annual IAMA (International Acoustic Music Awards). They also won the award for best group.

Buffalo Rose is an extremely charismatic six-piece folk/modern Americana band from Pittsburgh. They take the tradition of singer-songwriters to a new level by creating original songs that are emotive, meticulously arranged, and inspired by a world of idiosyncratic influences that never let a dull or predictable moment creep in. Buffalo Rose has a new album, co-written and recorded with Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award winner Tom Paxton – ‘Rabbit’, with a release date of 02/22/22. The second single from the EP, “I Give You the Morning”, written by the incomparable Tom Paxton and also features his vocals. The song reached #1 on the FolkRadio.org charts, the album is #6, and the band is #7, tied with Joan Baez. Buffalo Rose has been selected for official 2022 showcases at both SXSW in March and Folk Alliance International (FAI) in May 2022.

“We are so excited and honored to have won IAMA’s 18th Annual First Prize for Best Group/Duo Award and Overall Grand Prize! This truly comes at an amazing time for us. the road after a very long two years (due to the pandemic), and we can’t wait to see the new places this opportunity will take us. Buffalo Rose is so grateful to be a part of the tradition of acoustic music and to be able to create and experience music and joy with the world. A big thank you to our team and all of our wonderful fans! We have so much new music coming this year and we can’t wait to share it with you all! “, said Shane McLaughlin, this year’s big winner who plays guitar and vocals with Buffalo Rose.

Buffalo Rose is made up of band members Lucy Clabby (vocals), Margot Jezerc (vocals), Bryce Rabideau (mandolin), Malcolm Inglis (dobro), Jason Rafalak (double bass), and McLaughlin (guitar and vocals).

Other notable winners include current Grammy nominees: Will Ackerman, Jeff Oster and Tom Eaton; the prize for best instrumental for their song “The Confluence”. They are currently nominated for Best New Age Album at this year’s Grammy Awards, which will take place on April 3.

Jonathan Edwards won Best Folk for his song “Right Where I Am”, Jonathan is known for his hit song “Sunshine”. The single reached number 4 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Here is the list of winners from the 18th Annual IAMA:

FIRST PRIZE: “The Confluence” by Will Ackerman, Jeff Oster & Tom Eaton
MENTION: “Squirrelville” by Tony Furtado

FIRST PRIZE: “In the Shadow of the Seven Stars” by Jeff Crandall & Swallows
MENTIONED: “Heavy” by Elatrasi

FIRST PRIZE: “Bang at the Door” by Donna Herula
MENTIONED: “Never Been To War” by Lisa Jeanette

FIRST PRIZE: “Right Where I Am” by Jonathan Edwards
MENTIONED: “Emergency Use Only” by Abby Posner

FIRST PRIZE: “Soil and Seed” by Buffalo Rose
MENTIONED: “Could’ve Been A Good Thing” by Stone & Snow

FIRST PRIZE: “Ballad of a Young Troubadour” by Julian Taylor
MENTIONED: “One Kind Word” by Geoff Bartley

FIRST PRIZE: “Grow Older” by Ada Pasternak
MENTIONED: “Houses of Sand” by Sarah Vitort

FIRST PRIZE: “Make It Up” by Randall Hanson & MohaviSoul
MENTIONED: “Hills of Swannanoa” by Anya Hinkle