Barkaa, Baker Boy and Thelma Plum top nominations for 2022 National Indigenous Music Awards

The nominations and performance lineup for this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards, which honor First Nations artists and their talent, have been announced.

This year’s ceremony will be held at the Darwin Amphitheater on August 6 and will mark the first time the event has been held in person since 2019.

Rapper Malyangapa and Barkindji Barkaa topped the nominations with four nominations, including Song of the Year (for “King Brown”) and New Talent of the Year. Rapper Yolŋu Baker Boy follows with three nominations – including Artist of the Year and Album of the Year (for 2021’s ‘Gela’).

Additionally, singer-songwriter Gamilaraay Thelma Plum and rockers Yolŋu King Stingray are both up for Artist of the Year and Song of the Year (for “Backseat Of My Mind” and “Milkumana,” respectively). ).

Other nominees this year include The Kid LAROI, Jessica Mauboy, Electric Fields, Miiesha, Archie Roach, Emma Donovan & The Putbacks and Dallas Woods. Five artists are nominated for the very first time: Xavier Rudd, Jem Cassar-Daley, Dobby, dameeeela and Lil Kootsie.

In May, it was announced that Plum and King Stingray would both perform at this year’s NIMAs. Today, organizers announced additional artists, including Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Birdz & Fred Leone, Yirrmal and J-MILLA.

COVID-19 forced the 2020 NIMA event to take place virtually, while last year the ceremony was revamped as a two-hour radio special on triple j, hosted by Blak Out Nooky presenter.

“After a two-year hiatus, it’s very exciting to bring NIMA back to the Darwin Amphitheater on the Land of Larrakia,” NIMA Creative Director Ben Graetz said of the ceremony’s return to a format live.

“I’m thrilled to see such an amazing list of finalists this year and look forward to seeing live performances from some of our most powerful First Nations musicians, such as Thelma Plum and Emma Donovan & The Putbacks. This year is about coming together and celebrating as one big community.

This year’s National Indigenous Music Awards will take place as part of the Darwin Festival. Tickets for the ceremony are available here.

The 2022 National Indigenous Music Awards nominations are:

Artist of the Year
Jessica Mauboy
baker boy
Electric fields
Thelma Prune
King Stingray

song of the year
‘Back Seat of My Mind’ – Thelma Plum
“Made for Silence” – Miiesha
‘Milkumana’ – King Stingray
‘Sometimes’ – Mo’Ju
‘Brown King’ – Barkaa
‘The Ball and the Chain’ – Xavier Rudd

album of the year
Baker Boy – ‘Gela’
Emma Donovan & The Putbacks – “Beneath These Streets”
Jem Cassar-Daley – “I Don’t Know Who to Call”
Birdz – ‘Legacy’
Dallas Woods – “Julie’s Boy”
Archie Roach – ‘My Songs 1989-2021’

Movie clip of the year
‘Love Too Soon’ – Tasman Keith
‘Brown King’ – Barkaa
‘Matriarchy Blak’ – Barkaa
‘My Mind’ – Baker Boy
‘Automatic’ – Jessica Mauboy

New talent of the year
Jem Cassar Daley
Lil Kootsie
Tilly Tjala Thomas

Community Clip of the Year
Koori Mob – ‘Our Country, Our Life’ – Desert Pea Media
Gumbaynggirr Collective – ‘Through The Smoke’ – Desert Pea Media
Doomadgee, QLD – ‘Where We Want To Be’ – Aboriginal Outreach Project
Numbulwar, NT – Loud & Proud – Aboriginal Outreach Project
Ballarat, VIC – Don’t Give Up On Yourself – Aboriginal Outreach Project