37th Stellar Gospel Music Awards Winners Announced

Get Up Erica Featured Video


Source: Paras Griffin/Getty

(CHICAGO) July 19, 2022 The Stellar Gospel Music Awards turned 37e year honoring excellence in Gospel music during a weekend of uplifting events, culminating in the ceremony recorded live on Saturday, July 16 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center in Atlanta, Georgia. Hosted by Stellar Award-winning artists jekalyn carr and Kierra Sheardthis year’s celebration will be premieres Sunday, August 7 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on BET, BET Her and BET International and will be syndicated in various local markets across the country between August 13 and September 11, 2022.

Pastor Mike, Jr. topped the list of winners with a total of six Stellar awards, including Artist of the Year, Male Singer of the Year, Contemporary Male Artist of the Year, Contemporary Album of the Year, and Urban/Inspirational Single or Performance of the Year, as well as Album of the Year for I Got It: Single’s Ministry Vol. 1. CeCe Winans won three Stellar awards, including Producer of the Year, Praise & Worship Album of the Year, and Praise & Worship Song of the Year, all related to the album believe it. Jonathan McReynolds and Malian music received three awards for their collaboration, Jonny x Mali: Live in LA EPincluding Duo/Chorus Group of the Year, Contemporary Duo/Chorus Group of the Year and Special Event Album of the Year.

Other notable winners during the 37e The Stellar Gospel Music Awards include Tamela Mann and Ricky Dillardwho both received two Stellar Awards, with Dillard also receiving the James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Toyota in recognition of his contributions to Gospel music as a renowned choirmaster and recording artist. Additionally, twice nominated E. Dewey Smith was named best new artist for his 2021 albums God period and Let the praises ring out.

37e The Stellar Gospel Music Awards feature outstanding performances by kirk franklin, Erica Campbell, Maverick Town Music, Marvin Sapp, Tye Tribett, Le’Andria Johnson, Koryn Hawthorne, Brian Courtney Wilson, Jor’Dan Armstrong, Doe, Rudy Currence, Christelle Michele, Darrel Walls, James Fortune and more.

The Stellar Gospel Music Awards also bestow special honors on industry titans who continue to create a legacy of excellence that reaches and influences the masses, both within and outside of the Gospel genre. Six-time GRAMMY® Award-winning hitmaker and producer Aaron Lindsey moved back Aretha Franklin Icon Award presented by Aflac. Candi Station also received the Dr. Bobby Jones Legends Award Ambassador, an honor that reflects her nearly seven-decade career as a music pioneer and performer of captivating gospel music.

Top nominees for this year’s ceremony included CeCe Winanswho led the pack with nine nominations, followed by Pastor Mike, Jr.which received eight nominations. Tamela Mann, Jonathan McReynolds & Mali Musicand Todd Dulaney all received six nominations. Kelontae Gavin received five nominations. Maverick Town Music, Israel Houghton, Ricky Dillard, E. Dewey Smithand Jason Clayborn received four nominations each.

37e Stellar Gospel Music Awards is proud to be presented this year by AT&T Dream in black. This year’s sponsors also include Procter & Gamble (P&G), Walmart, State Farm, Toyota, McDonald’s – Black & Positively Golden, and Aflac. 37e Stellar Gospel Music Awards is also proud to be associated with St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

37th Stellar Gospel Music Awards Winners Announced
was originally published on