2022 International Folk Music Awards nominees announced

Folk Alliance International has announced its nominees for the 2022 International Folk Music Awards. This year’s list of winners was revealed during a live special event aired earlier today (April 7).

The Spirit of Folk Award, which is given to those who work to promote and preserve folk music, will be presented to Eugene Rodriguez of the Mexican-American Academy of Arts Los Cenzontles, singer-songwriter “Folk Rock Diva ‘Lilli Lewis, NPR Music’ 2016 Tiny Gaelynn Lea, Desk Contest winner and disability activist, Erin Benjamin, President and CEO of the Canadian Live Music Association, Amando Espinoza, Bolivian musician and luthier, and Shain Shapiro, founder and president of music consulting firm Sound Diplomacy.

The Rising Tide Award, which is given to artists under the age of 30 who “inspire others by embodying the values ​​and ideals of the folk community through their creative work, community role and public voice”, will be awarded to Mali Obomsawin. Bassist, singer, songwriter and indie-folk trio member Lula Wiles is also executive director of the non-profit Bomazeen Land Trust. This organization provides cultural outreach and education to Abenaki and Abenaki communities on their ceremonial, historical, agricultural and medicinal traditions and language.

This year’s Clearwater Award, which recognizes festivals that prioritize environmental stewardship and leadership in producing sustainable events, will be presented at Planet Bluegrass. The Colorado-based organization presents a range of sustainable events, including Telluride Bluegrass Festival and RockyGrass.

Named in honor of the co-founder of Folk Alliance, the Elaine Weissman Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to accomplished accordionist Flaco Jiménez, the late influential singer-songwriter Nanci Griffith and Swallow Hill Music of Denver. The People’s Voice Award, given to “a person who unabashedly embraces social and political commentary in their creative work and public career,” will go to singer-songwriter Jason Mraz.

The nominees for Artist of the Year, Song of the Year and Album of the Year from the Folk Music Awards were also announced. Some of the standout performers this year include Allison Russell, Sarah Jarosz, Valerie June, Crys Matthews, Amythyst Kiah and Rhiannon Giddens. You can see a full list of nominees for each of these categories below.

The winners of these three awards, as well as previous categories, will be presented at a ceremony on May 18, the first day of the 34th annual Folk Alliance International conference in Kansas City, Mo. You can find more information about the conference of this year through the Folklore Alliance website.

Nominated artists of the year:
The longest pants
Kalani Pe’a
Allison Russell
Arooj Aftab
John Francis Flynn

Song of the Year nominees:
“We Believe You” by Diana Jones
“Call Me Crazy” by Valerie June
“On Solid Ground” by Reggie Harris
“Painted Blue” by Sarah Jarosz
“Changemakers” by Crys Matthews

Nominees for Album of the Year:
The fray by John Smith
Suspicious + Strange by Amythyste Kiah
They call me home by Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi
A Song for Mexico, Vol. 2 by Natalia Lafourcade
outdoor child by Allison Russel

Every winner of the Grammy Awards for the best American album of all time

This list focuses on the winners of the Grammys’ Best American Album category since its inception in 2010. The Grammys are known for their eclectic pickings of nominees, and this list rightly includes a mix of well-known names, lesser-known artists. well-known and cross-genre icons.