2022 Blues Music Awards Nominees: Full List – Billboard

Tommy Castro is the top nominee for the 2022 Blues Music Awards, with five nominations. The blues, R&B and rock guitarist and singer is nominated for BB King Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, Group of the Year (with The Painkillers), contemporary blues album and blues rock artist. This is Castro’s fourth nomination for Artist of the Year, which he won in 2008 and 2010.

To explore

See the latest videos, graphics and news

See the latest videos, graphics and news

The nominations were announced on Thursday (February 10). The awards, presented by the Blues Foundation, are in their 43rd year.

Chris Cain and Anthony Paule are a beat behind Castro, with four nods apiece. Cain’s nods include his first album of the year for Grape ‘Cain. Paule’s nods include one for Song of the Year and three with The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra.

This year’s youngest nominee is Veronica Lewis, 18, who is nominated for Best Emerging Artist Album for You are not unlucky. His album competes with albums from GA-20, Gabe Stillman, Memphissippi Sounds and Rodd Bland and the Members Only Band.

Two artists were nominated posthumously. Mike Finnigan, who died in August at the age of 76, was nominated for the Pinetop Perkins Player Award (instrumentalist – piano). Wee Willie Walker, who died in November 2019 aged 77, was nominated for Album of the Year and Soul Blues Album for Not in my life a collaboration with The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra. Walker died just three days after finishing recording the album.

The awards will be presented on May 5 at the Renasant Convention Center in Memphis. Tickets range from single seats for $150 to premium tables (with seating for 10) for $1,800. Ticket sales are now open and can be purchased by click here.

The Blues Foundation Blues Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held May 4 at the Halloran Center in Memphis at the Orpheum. Tickets, which include admission to the ceremony and reception, start at $75. The class of 2022 inductees will be announced in the coming weeks.

The full list of Blues Music Awards nominees can be found below and on the Blues Foundation website — www.blues.org. Voting will be open to current Blues Foundation members until 11:59 p.m. CST on March 18. To become a member of the Blues Foundation, visit www.blues.org. Upon confirmation of membership, New Members and New Members will receive instructions on how to access the 2022 Blues Music Awards ballot.

Founded in 1980, the Blues Foundation has approximately 4,000 individual members and 173 affiliated blues societies representing another 50,000 fans and professionals worldwide.

Here is a full list of nominees for the 2022 Blues Music Awards:

BB King Artist of the Year
Tom Castro
Eric Gales
Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)
JP flies away
Sugaray Rayford

album of the year
Scream if you hear meAltered Five Blues Band
Not in my life Wee Willie Walker and the Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra
Pinky’s bluesSue Foley
Grape ‘CainChris Cain
Tommy Castro Presents A Bluesman Came To Town,Tommy Castro

Group of the year
Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra
JP Soars and the Red Hots
Lil’ Ed & the Blues Imperials
Sugaray Rayford Group
Tommy Castro and painkillers

song of the year

“Fragile Peace and Certain War” – written and performed by Carolyn Wonderland

“Holler If You Can Hear Me” – Written by Jeff Schroedl, Mark Solveson; performed by Altered Five Blues Band

“I’d Climb Mountains” – written and performed by Selwyn Birchwood

“Real Good Lie” – written by Christine Vitale, Larry Batiste, Anthony Paule; performed by Wee Willie Walker & The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra

“Somewhere” – co-written by Tommy Castro and Tom Hambridge; performed by Tommy Castro & The Painkillers

Best Emerging Artist Album
GA-20 Does Hound Dog Taylor: Try it…You might like it!GA-20
Just say the word, Gabe Stillman
Live on Beale Street: A Tribute to Bobby “Blue” BlandRodd Bland and the members-only group
Welcome to Earth, Sounds of Memphissippi
You’re unlucky, Veronique Lewis

Acoustic Blues Album
Dear America, Eric Bibb
land of heaven, Keith Catfish
Let’s be happy together, Maria Muldaur
Let go of these chains, Hector Anchondo
Trio Sessions, EG Knight

blues rock album
Moon of AlafiaDamon Fowler
Dance songs for hard timesReverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band
ResurrectionMike Zito
Foil hatPopa chubby
Very bored unemployed person, Jeremiah Johnson

Contemporary blues album
Limit the damageCurtis Salgado
Scream if you hear meAltered Five Blues Band
Grape ‘CainChris Cain
Tommy Castro Presents A Bluesman Came To Town,Tommy Castro

soul blues album
Let’s have a partyGerald McClendon
As long as I have my guitar, Zac Harmon
Not in my lifeWee Willie Walker and the Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra
You Get What You Give: DuosDave Keller
you must have itTia Carroll

Traditional blues album
Be ready when I call youGuy Davis
Bob Corritore & Friends: Spider in My StewBob Corritor
Boogie with RL Boyce (Live), R. L. Boyce
little black flies, Eddie 9V
Pinky’s Blues, Sue Foley

acoustic blues artist
Eric Bibb
Kevin Burt
Guy Davis
Doug MacLeod

blues rock artist
Albert Castiglia
Tom Castro
Tinley Ellis
Ana Popovic
Joanne Shaw Taylor

Female Contemporary Blues Artist
vanessa necklace
Thornetta Davis
Ruthie Foster
Danielle Nicole
Carolyn Wonderland

Male Contemporary Blues Artist
Selwyn Birch
Chris Cain
Christone “Kingfish” Ingram
Kenny Neal
Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)

female soul blues artist
Annika Rooms
Trudy Lynn
Terrie Odabi
Kat Riggins
Vaneese Thomas

male soul blues artist
William Bell
Don Bryant
Jean Nemeth
Johnny Rawls
Curtis Salgado

Traditional Blues Female Artist (Koko Taylor Award)
Rory Block
Sue Foley
Rhiannon Giddens
Diunna Greenleaf
EG Knight

Male Traditional Blues Artist
Cedric Burnside
Super Chikan
Taj Mahal
Sugar Ray Norcia
Jontavious Willis

Instrumentalist – bass
Willie J.Campbell
Larry Fulcher
jerry jemmott
Scottish Sutherland
Danielle Nicole

Instrumentalist – drums
Danny Banks
June core
Tom Hambridge
Derrick D’Mar Martin
Chris Peet

Instrumentalist – guitar
Christoffer “Kid” Andersen
Chris Cain
Laura Chavez
Anson Funderburgh
Eric Gales
JP flies away

Instrumentalist – harmonica
Billy Branch
Bob Corritor
Jason Rici
Brandon Santini
Kim Wilson

Instrumentalist – horn
Mindi Abair
jimmy carpenter
Mark Franklin
Regi Olivier
Nancy Wright

Instrumentalist – piano (Pinetop Perkins Piano Player Award)
Eden Brent
Mike Finnigan
David Keyes
Veronique Lewis
Jim Poug

Instrumentalist – vocals
Thornetta Davis
Ruthie Foster
Jean Nemeth
Sugaray Rayford
Curtis Salgado